Manhattanhenge 2012: A Full Sun Aligns With New York City Grid On July 11th

Wednesday evening was the last time that New Yorkers will see a full-sun Manhattanhenge this year, and the weather was perfect. Unlike the year’s first Manhattanhenge back in May, clear skies made for spectacularly clear views of one of the world’s greatest urban phenomena, when the sun aligns itself with Manhattan’s 201-year-old street grid. New York City’s photographers took to the streets, often blocking traffic to get the best shot. And if you missed last night’s show, don’t worry. There’s a half-sun Manhattanhenge Thursday evening, and there’s always next year!

9 thoughts on “Manhattanhenge 2012: A Full Sun Aligns With New York City Grid On July 11th

  1. Wow…wonderful shots, Adri! Nice to see you were above the crowd on the last shot! I’ve never heard of this before. Very cool! Thanks for teaching me something new! xo

    • Hi Judy! Happy Friday! I wish they were mine, I found an article and wrote about it πŸ˜‰ I hope I can go back to NY soon I miss walking in the busy streets! So many things to do and see!

  2. Ahhhhhhh…New-York City !!!!! I miss you sooooooooooo much !! πŸ™‚
    I love the second photo with everybody taking pictures, that’s New-York ! This full sun must be something to witness, it’s so beautiful.
    I want to go to New-York ! I miss it !

Leave a Reply

