Destination Of The Week: Great Barrier Reef, Australia

I have been thinking of taking on Australia as my next traveling destination! Having been reading and looking at pictures of this beautiful place makes me want to jump on a plan and fly there right now. For those of you who have gone to Australia, I am sure you know what I mean that the country is filled with beauty and crystal clear waters!

Here is juts a little information about this magical wonder: the Great Barrier Reef is an extensive natural feature that extends over three thousand miles at the coast of Queensland, Australia. It is a natural phenomenon worth to be seen since it is one of the top Seven Wonders of the World. The Great Barrier Reef is located in the Queensland section of Australia. The Great Barrier Reef runs for more than 2300km along the northeast coast of Queensland from Bundaberg in the south to the tip of Cape York in the north. It is the largest natural feature on earth and can be seen from space. About 1.9 million tourists and about 4.9 million recreational visitors travel on the Great Barrier Reef every year. The reef contains over 2,900 reefs which includes 760 fringing reefs, and 300 coral cays. Whales are normally encountered during the winter months when they migrate up to the reef from Antarctic waters to mate and give birth. One of the most spectacular visitors during this period is the Humpback. They are seen in the shallow coastal waters of the reef ranging from Hervey Bay to Port Douglas. Whale watching is conducted by a number of tourist operators through these areas.

I think Australia should be on everyones places to visit list 🙂

~P.S. Pictures from my trip to South Korea coming soon 😉 ~

11 thoughts on “Destination Of The Week: Great Barrier Reef, Australia

  1. Hey Adri…..
    What a wonderful destination the Great Barrier Reef would be! Love the photos…. the sublime turquoise water is calling your name! Imagine having an umbrella drink beside that view! Yowza!
    I can’t wait to see your S. Korea posts too! I’m so far behind in my blog visits. It’s good to be back on yours, my friend.

    • Hi Judy! Exactly~ Perfect summer getaway 🙂 make it a whole summer hehe. I haven’t been on in a while it’s nice to talk to everyone again! There so many kind and sweet people like you that I have meet here that have also become dear friends to me!! I am glad I found your blog 🙂

  2. I’m looking forward to seeing pics of your trip! I’ve also thought of a trip to the great barrier reef – my friends in Australia say come sooner rather than later because the reef is reducing in size each year which is sad. These photos make it even more enticing as a getaway though don’t they?

    http://www.styleonthecouch.com

  3. Let me know when you decide to visit Australia…make sure you put Sydney and Gold Coast on your list! Then Jo and I can meet up with you! Great post. 🙂
    -Anika

    • That would be so much fun! Thank you so much! I want to stop by Fiji and New Zealand too. Sydney is a dream of mine to visit! You are so lucky you live there. I am from California so it will be quite a journey!
      -Adri

      • Every day I wake up thinking I’m still in a dream…still hasn’t hit me yet that I’m living in Australia (though I do miss my hometown of Toronto very much). California isn’t too far from Sydney, maybe “only” 15 hours. Much closer than Toronto!
        -Anika

Leave a Reply

