Destination of the Week: Fernando de Noronha, Brazil

Fernando de Noronha is a beautiful archipelago with pristine beaches, landscapes and wildlife, situated 220 miles off the northeastern coast in Brazil. The archipelago was discovered by Amerigo Vespucci in 1503 and temporarily occupied by the Dutch and French before Portugal established dominion in 1737. Today only the largest of the 21 islands is inhabited with a population of about 3,500. Its  pristine beaches, landscapes and wildlife attract tourists. The easiest way to get around is by bus which goes back and forth along the main road from the Port on one end of the island to Praia de Sueste on the other.  Another option is to hitchhike as almost all the local people and sometimes the taxi drivers or truck drivers will be happy to pick you up and give you a ride if you are going in their direction. The island offers boat tours, dolphin watching, kayak tours and you can even go surfing!

 

9 thoughts on “Destination of the Week: Fernando de Noronha, Brazil

    • Hi! You are very welcome 🙂 I know I’m sitting here at my desk too and boy do I want to fly to Brazil right now. I leave in a few days for my vacation, but I wish it was here!! Maybe next year?

  1. Wowza! The crystal clear azure water is spectacular! I want I want! 😉 I could go there in a second and I’ve never heard of Fernando de Noronha before! Great photos and text, Adri! You’ve convinced me!

Leave a Reply

