Again?

Is it just me, or does someone from The Academy not like Leonardo? It seems that he never gets nominated in some movies that he performed excellent roles in. I still think he should of won best actor in Titanic fourteen years ago!! I mean what about all of his other great roles he was in: What’s Eating Gilbert’s Grape, Romeo and Juliet, Catch Me If You Can, The Aviator, The Departed, Blood Diamond, Inception, must I go on?

I’m still mad Leonardo didn’t get nominated. He deserves that Oscar. He puts so much time and effort into each and every one of his characters. I’m not saying the other guys don’t deserve it, I just feel Leo’s performance in J. Edgar was better than their performances. Leo gets snubbed every year and it’s just not right. The winners should be judged based on who’s performance is the best and not based on who’s on the most magazine covers.

I don’t know exactly what Leonardo DiCaprio has to do to get an Oscar nomination. He is consistently fantastic in every single movie he does. Who in the world has Leo made mad? His total immersion into the part of J Edgar Hoover was nothing less than spectacular. No one deserves an Oscar more. However, George Clooney and Brad Pitt play the Hollywood game. They want Clooney and his date and Brad and Angelina in the front row. Makes for a lot of press and popularity. Leonardo generally brings his mother a nice touch if you ask me. After all, he could bring any one of the super models he dates, but he prefers to let his mom shine. Nice guy, unbelievably great actor. The Academy is all politics.

8 thoughts on “Again?

  1. I definitely agree! He is one of my favorite actors of all time. I have absolutely memorized “Titanic”…it’s one of those movies that never grows old…it manages to sweep me away each time I watch it. So sad that he doesn’t get more credit for his hard work. He seems to choose smart, intelligent roles, and I deeply respect that about him.

    • Hi Jenna! Mine too! I feel the same way I never get tiered of watching Titanic. I watched it 3 times in the theater. I’m sure one day he will win an Oscar, I just hope it’s soon 🙂

  2. It doesn’t change the larger point, but DiCpario WAS nominated for an Oscar for “What’s Eating Gilbert Grape” (and deservedly so–that was a remarkable performance)…and “The Aviator” and “Blood Diamond.” He hasn’t won an Oscar, however.

    http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0000138/awards

    He’ll win eventually. Just think about Paul Newman. Never won an Oscar until “The Color of Money” in 1987 despite countless previous nominations–Cat On a Hot Tin Roof, The Hustler, Cool Hand Luke, Hud, Absence of Malice, The Verdict…and NOT being nominated for Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid or The Sting, among others.

    Hopefully Leo won’t have to wait until he’s 62 (Newman’s age when he was finally honored with an Oscar) for his first statue.

    • Yes, Paul Newman also won his Oscar at an older age. I was also thinking about that too, I don’t want to see Leonardo winning his Oscar when he’s old. Let’s hope he wins one soon 🙂

  3. I completely agree with you! While I didn’t necessarily see him winning for Titanic, he was simply brilliant in The Aviator, Departed and Inception.

    • Hi Leah! I will be so happy the day he wins his Oscar. I thought he would win in one of the nominations he had when he was nominated twice for best actor in The Departed and Blood Diamond 😦

Leave a Reply

