9/11 Memorial

During my last visit to New York, I was able to get tickets to the 9/11 Memorial with my family. When you enter the site, you start to think back and remember what happened that day. People from all parts of the world come to pay their respects and honor all of the victims that lost their lives on that tragic day. Now, I have heard waterfalls and fountains, but listening to this water made me sad. I thought to myself if 9/11 never happened, I wouldn’t be visiting this Memorial, I would be touring inside the buildings and going to the top to get a wonderful view of New York. You realize that you are standing right next to what once was a huge building filled with people and full of life. I thought about all of the people that once worked here and would walk in the same path that I did to get to their offices. Even though I never saw the twin towers, I felt their presence. I will never forget what I felt that day, a part of New York felt empty to me. They did a wonderful job with this Memorial, so serene and respectful. It’s design conveys a spirit of hope and renewal, and creates a contemplative space separate from the usual sights and sounds of a bustling metropolis. Here are some pictures that I took:

This tree was the only tree that survived , all of the other plants and trees were burned. To me this little tree is very symbolic because is shows that even through all of the aggressions, there is always hope, life, and a new beginning.  

3 thoughts on “9/11 Memorial

  1. Thanks for the wonderful photos. I’m scared of the overwhelming emotion I would feel when I one day visit the memorial site. Still thinking about the day fills me with such sorrow. But I know visiting the memorial and carrying the memory forward is so important.

Leave a Reply

