Pyramids and the Mediterranean

This was probably the farthest that I have ever traveled. My family surprised my sister and I on a birthday trip to Egypt! We were so excited to go and finally see what we had always just seen on history books, television, and magazine. This trip was an incredible and one of a kind experience! The food was delicious, everything was perfect. Here are some photos that I would like to share with you from my trip!

The Pyramids of Giza. It is incredible that you can go so close and touch them. You can also go inside, I will never forget that day.

We took an evening cruise down the Nile River at night. We had dinner and a show the scenery was amazing.

This was the view from our hotel room in Alexandria.

This was outside the Alexandria Library. One of the nicest libraries I have ever seen.

The catacombs in Alexandria. It was a long way down.

This was the Montazah palace which was right in front of our hotel. We were only able to walk in the gardens, the ocean was just behind me as I took the picture. Very relaxing place to walk in.

This was the view from our hotel room, a marvelous view of the Mediterranean Ocean!

After a tour of Alexandria, we came back to the hotel, put on our summer clothes in November 🙂 and went to the beach and started building our own Pyramids of Giza!

Our pyramids were complete! I did the Sphinx by myself 🙂 his face was a little hard to make.

Our tour group from all parts of the world. We all experienced Egypt together and had a wonderful time getting to know each other. We were a little family for two weeks.

The children in Egypt are so friendly and welcoming! They wave and greet you “Welcome to Egypt”

Any direction you look, the Mediterranean is just spectacular! I would of never thought the water and view would be so breathtaking.

This was in Alexandria, they have beaches everywhere!

We visited The Citadel, a plateau in Cairo with the remnants of a medieval fortress and the very large beautiful Mosque of Mohammed Ali, the most visited mosque in Cairo.

We went to the Sphinx show at night to hear the story of how and why the pyramids were built. Our tour was one of the first groups to arrive. It got packed later on. Sitting in front of ancient history, and the Sphinx is an incredible feeling. To think of everything the Sphinx has seen..it’s nice to know that he knows who I am now 🙂

Here is a picture on how the Sphinx looks lit up at night at the evening show.

The famous burial mask of Tutankhamun, the Boy King at the Egyptian Museum.

Statues of Amenophis III and his wife still inside the Egyptian Museum.

This was taken outside the Egyptian Museum in Cairo. There were so many stray cats everywhere. They would come up to you looking for food. I met a little friend who didn’t want to leave.

I am fortunate that I was able to visit Egypt. Egypt is a wonderful and historic place! I will treasure these memories and hope that someday I can go back and visit Luxor!

2 thoughts on “Pyramids and the Mediterranean

Leave a Reply

