War Horse

Steven Spielberg did it again! War Horse is such a brilliant and extraordinary film. Bring a tissue because you will tear up in some scenes, but don’t worry, it has a happy ending which is the best part! I mean who doesn’t like a happy ending? Especially a movie about animals and war. By watching this film, you will also learn a lot about what people had to go through during World War I. It is hard to believe what those people lived during that difficult and terrifying time. There were some parts that make you want to jump into the movie and help the people. To create a film that gives the audience that type of emotion is a powerful message. Jeremy Irvine delivered a wonderful performance in the film! The way he connected with Joey (the horse) was a fascinating thing to see. You can definitely see it on screen as well as the other actors who developed a bond with Joey. The actors, Joey, the music, the scenes, the message of the story, you will not regret watching this film!

Jeremy training Joey πŸ™‚

 

8 thoughts on “War Horse

  1. This looks like a great movie. I hope to see it this weekend.

    Did I read something here in your blog about how you really like movie scores? Because that’s almost exclusively what I listen to. Amazing stuff, and so inspiring! πŸ™‚

    • Yes!!!! I listen to them all the time! I listen to my soundtrack playlist almost everyday! I started writing a story and I always play movie scores they inspire me a lot when I write. I will start posting songs that I like πŸ™‚ maybe we can exchange lists!!

      • What a coincidence! It was movie scores that got me to try writing! If I need emotion in my creative writing, I put on my headphones (earbuds won’t do for me – it’s got to be big old headphones), and search for that great track to get me thinking with more creativity. Amazing how music can move us, isn’t it?

        I’l like to exchange lists! My favorites are soundtracks by Hans Zimmer and James Horner, along with James Newton Howard and many others. I love scores with deep emotion…the sort that I like to call “goosebumps good”, where you get, yes, goosebumps, and your eyes close and well up…What a feeling! I just love music that does that.

        Thank you for commenting on my blog. It’s much appreciated. πŸ™‚

      • You’re welcome!I love them too! I have most of James Horner and Hans Zimmer scores on my iPod. Michael Giacchino who did Disney’s “UP” is one of my new favorites. When I listen to his songs it reminds me that I am at Disneyland! Thomas Newman also has great work, “Meet Joe Black” is my favorite works from him.

        I recently started listening to Dario Marianelli he did “Jane Eyre” here is one of his songs.

        Basically all of Jane Austin movies like Sense and Sensibility, Pride and Prejudice and Becoming Jane have really great soundtracks!

        This song is by far one of my favorites from James Newton Howard!! It’s called “Fairy Dance” perhaps you have heard of it?

        Howard Shore who did the Lord of the Rings film scores is also amazing!!

        Carter Burwell who did the Twilight Saga has some pretty good songs. This one is one of my favorites from him:

        I can go on and on πŸ™‚

  2. I do like your taste in music! These songs are just wonderful! I love the rather tragic sound of the Jane Eyre track. I don’t know why, but I love tragic music sometimes. While I am quite familiar with James Newton Howard (especially love “King Kong” and “The Village”, not to mention “Water for Elephants” and many others), I had not heard this track from “Peter Pan”. Wow, beautiful stuff, and a lot of feeling. I love it!

    Oh yes, Howard Shore is quite good! Do you have “The Aviator”? I’ve long considered buying it, but for some reason, I never do. His “Lord of the Rings” scores are outstanding. One of my very favorite scores is that from “The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford”. It’s done by Nick Cave and Warren Ellis. The depth and emotion in that score amazes me. I’ve had it for a couple of years, and I still listen to it probably every week. I just love the mourning violins in it. I more recently purchased “The Road” by the same two composers. It’s good, but has an eerie feel to it, so I don’t listen to it quite as often.

    Thomas Newman is good, though I haven’t heard “Meet Joe Black”. Are you familiar with Michael Kamen? He composed “Band of Brothers”, and that is truly an outstanding score. Here is a highlight from it. It is somehow stirring, don’t you think? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7uTAIpU0sa0

    I could go on and on, too. πŸ™‚ Fun to talk about this stuff! Have a good day.

    • I totally agree! The mysterious type of music makes me think about so many things. I like to explore my mind in so many levels. I never heard The Aviator soundtrack before, I watched the film though. I started to hear some songs on iTunes and I really liked it! I downloaded the soundtrack already! Thanks for letting me know about it, now I have one more soundtrack to add to my iPod playlist πŸ™‚ I will check out The Village and The Road! I love Water for Elephants my favorite song from the album is “When Jacob Sees Marlena.” If you recommend Michael Kamen I will definitely look him up too. I love learning and hearing new music! Thanks Jenna for all of the recommendations! It’s nice to talk to someone who liked the same music genre. My twin sister and one of my friend love movie soundtracks too so I will also let them know about them πŸ™‚ I’ll let you know if I come across any new ones!

  3. Hey There AnyLuckyPenny,
    I am pleased to see you are following honiebriggs.com. Your site is lovely and I appreciate the clear, positive style of your writing. I think on days when I am feeling like a war horse, I will visit your site to calm and collect my thoughts. Thanks for creating such a wonderful, peaceful place.

Leave a Reply

